Invincible ’till We Aren’t

Posted: February 14, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

I lost one of my closest friends last week to a drug overdose, and I’m still trying to wrap my head around it. Mikey was one of my best friends, but also one of my biggest enemies. He was my partner in crime. Someone I could count on to be there at 2am if I couldn’t sleep. The friend who encouraged my silliness and could quote the entire Monsters Inc. film right alongside me. His best and his worst quality was that he saw no boundaries. Fearless to a fault with no regard for consequences. But that was his appeal. He was the mad hatter leading me down a blackhole but never stood in my way of getting out. He was the devil on my shoulder, but never fought the angel too hard. He represented everything wrong in my life, but still knew how to be right. He lacked the judgement others had against him which made him truly unique.

Our motto was, “Invincible till we aren’t.” Sounds stupid right about now, but that was our outlook on life. I’ve dealt with a lot of loss in my life. None of it fun, none of it easy. Addiction is a powerful and messy road. Trust me, I know. But it doesn’t make the loss any less painful. It doesn’t make it any easier. And it definitely doesn’t make it any more deserving. 2am won’t be the same. Neither will swamp walks or midnight monkey bars. But as always, I’ll keep trekking on. Invincible, till I’m not.

 

Leave a comment